What altcoins are not only money?

Hello, my name is Anna and I'm a journalist.
I'm doing an investigation about crypto universe, I started from scratch, didn't know anything about this world, but I'm happy with what I found here. So forgive me my amateurish level, I'm a journalist not a coder ;)
Forums like this gives a tremendous picture of existing coins, one can easily get lost inside, which happened to me.
For my research I'd like to figure out what coins are not only money, like ethereum for example that provide a platform for smart-contracts and political referendums?
And else I'd like to understand why generally there are so many of coins? What features makes one different to another?
Thank you!
0 x

Re: What altcoins are not only money?

AnnaSST wrote:
January 7th, 2018, 1:16 pm
Hello, my name is Anna and I'm a journalist.

Hello, Anna. Nice to meet you here!
Where do you work?

AnnaSST wrote:
I'm doing an investigation about crypto universe, I started from scratch, didn't know anything about this world, but I'm happy with what I found here. So forgive me my amateurish level, I'm a journalist not a coder ;)

It's ok, we all have started from scratch.
Actually, the world of crypto is nascent today. There are no all-in-one places for newcomers to learn about Bitcoin & co.
Not so many thoughtful blogs, books, videos as well.
That is why people dig crypto mostly by talking to each other. Just like you did!
By the way, if you want to discover the best cryptocurrency resources around, have a look at this comprehensive list.

AnnaSST wrote:
Forums like this give a tremendous picture of existing coins, one can easily get lost inside, which happened to me.
For my research, I'd like to figure out what coins are not only money, like ethereum for example that provide a platform for smart-contracts and political referendums?
And else I'd like to understand why generally there are so many of coins? What features makes one different to another?
Thank you!

Good questions!